Left 4 Dead

How can i hide/show the HUD?

Use this section to discuss anything about Left 4 Dead.

How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby TheEndOFInfinity » Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:54 am

Hi Guys, and Ladies

I have a technical question: how can I hide the "HUD" in the game?
(no live display, any players name, no chat ... etc.)

I want to record only the gameplay on video.
I have the console installed and can open it, but what commands I have to hide (and again for Show) enter?

in another game (brink, bethesda) was the command: g_showhud 0 / g_showhud 1
is in l4d the same command?

I hope someone can help a technology-nerd :crazy:

infi
I have no quirks, these are special effects!
Infi
User avatar
TheEndOFInfinity
Spammer
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby TheEndOFInfinity » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:14 am

i mean i am a technology-noob!! ...not nerd xD
I have no quirks, these are special effects!
Infi
User avatar
TheEndOFInfinity
Spammer
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby Ξv!L_tony » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:21 am

http://left4dead.wikia.com/wiki/Console_commands

In here they say you have to type "hidehud 4"

But you have to activate cheats before which is not possible on our servers ;)

(On the page is listed under "Taking screenshots" after 2/3 of the scrolling :D)
I am bad and that is good, I will never be good and that's not bad.
User avatar
Ξv!L_tony
Moderator
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby TheEndOFInfinity » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:46 pm

Thank you for your input Tony :)
I think it really does not work without sv_cheats :/
maybe it works even with only "hidehud 4". I will try it.
User avatar
TheEndOFInfinity
Spammer
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby Ξv!L_tony » Sun Nov 15, 2015 4:59 pm

Otherwise you can still try in spectator mode ;)
I am bad and that is good, I will never be good and that's not bad.
User avatar
Ξv!L_tony
Moderator
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby =H=Danny » Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:47 pm

disabling HUD means also you cannot switch weapons anymore, the HUD for weps NEEDS to be active, the rest can be disabled
www.l4d-hero.nl a growing l4d community / clan
User avatar
=H=Danny
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2117
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:00 pm

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby TheEndOFInfinity » Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:54 am

Thank you Danny for your reply.

Yes, the weapon I could not change then, but would not be so bad, goes also with 1 weapon: D
The problem is more that I can not hide the HUD because I had to activate the command "sv_cheats", and this does not go... on the Hero servers.
I'll be looking at the "Spectator Mode", but a gameplay video record in spectator mode is not as exciting. The final way is, I just press Record.. with all displays.. is just not as nice visually but simple :)
User avatar
TheEndOFInfinity
Spammer
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:03 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby Ξv!L_tony » Tue Nov 17, 2015 10:01 am

You should try free spectator mode ;)
I am bad and that is good, I will never be good and that's not bad.
User avatar
Ξv!L_tony
Moderator
 
Posts: 8287
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby Solid Snake » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:36 am

sorry for bumping this old posts but i have a solution for you.even if you know about it,it will help others.
do you know you can record your gameplay through console command- record "demo name"?you can watch your recorded file through console command- startdemos "demo name".good thing is you can turn on the cheats and hide the hud or go to thirdperson.
you can press shift+f2 to manage your demo and then record it with the software you use to record :D
User avatar
Solid Snake
Jedi
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:25 am
Location: Antarctica

Re: How can i hide/show the HUD?

Postby Frano35 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:24 am

Sorry for bumping old thread,
But there is mod that hides gui, here is link

http://www.gamemaps.com/details/13598
User avatar
Frano35
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:40 pm
Location: Vitina, Bosnia and Herzegovina


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 20 minutes)
Most users ever online was 114 on Fri May 26, 2017 10:46 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests